News & media

ACF opinion

All topics

Filter by:
  • d.sweeney@acfonline.org.au's picture
    Uranium mining and export not a piece of yellow cake - September 30, 2013
    Dave Sweeney

    This week the Australian Uranium Association and other nuclear industry hopefuls will head to western Queensland for the Mining the Isa conference. 

  • j.norman@acfonline.org.au's picture
    Climate change – a major league challenge - September 27, 2013
    James Norman

    The timing couldn’t have been worse in Australia for the release of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) report.

  • c.berger@acfonline.org.au's picture
    No time for slash-and-burn approach to regulation - September 26, 2013
    Charles Berger

    For the past three years, the question of how to streamline project approval processes has dominated conservation policy debates.

     

  • t.mohr@acfonline.org.au's picture
    Australia's step back on climate change - September 20, 2013
    Tony Mohr

    The government's new direction on climate change could have disastrous effects, says Tony Mohr.

  • j.meadows@acfonline.org.au's picture
    A brutal week in climate politics - September 20, 2013
    Josh Meadows

    The new federal government has abolished the Climate Commission, but the Clean Energy Finance Corporation will be harder to scrub out, writes Josh Meadows.

  • e.butler@acfonline.org.au's picture
    Carbon pricing: a primer - September 16, 2013
    Edward Butler

    The announcement of a fixed carbon price has got Australia’s political writers all hot and bothered.

  • b.parris@acfonline.org.au's picture
    Expanding coal exports is bad news for Australia and the world - September 13, 2013
    Brett Parris

    In the coming months our new federal government will be promoting a massive expansion in Australia’s coal exports. In all likelihood they’ll hail it as “Good for Australia”. It isn’t.

  • c.maries@acfonline.org.au's picture
    Repealing the carbon price not a matter of merely 'axing the tax' - September 9, 2013
    Claire Maries

    While the Coalition has pledged to repeal the carbon tax, none of the steps required to do so are straightforward, writes ACF's Claire Maries.

  • b.parris@acfonline.org.au's picture
    Coalition climate figures don’t add up - September 2, 2013
    Brett Parris

    The Coalition have announced A$7.5 billion in planned budget savings from scrapping key elements of the Government’s Clean Energy Future package, writes Brett Parris.

  • d.henry@acfonline.org.au's picture
    Looking for a better life, not just wealth - September 2, 2013
    Don Henry

    In his inaugural address in 1961, John F. Kennedy famously called on Americans to ''ask not what your country can do for you - ask what you can do for your country''. The leaders of Australia's major political parties, on the other hand, appear to be appealing directly to our self-interest.

  • g.tupper@acfonline.org.au's picture
    In search of northern vision - September 2, 2013
    Graham Tupper

    In the current election campaign both the major parties have strikingly similar visions for the Northern Territory – and either of them could have been penned by the mining industry, writes Graham Tupper.

  • c.maries@acfonline.org.au's picture
    Adelaide's water supply under threat because of climate change and pollution - August 29, 2013
    Claire Maries

    In the fog of all the numbers and debate about who will do what to reduce pollution and by how much, it's easy to forget why we need to care about climate change, writes Claire Maries.

  • d.sweeney@acfonline.org.au's picture
    Time to stop the (uranium) boats - August 28, 2013
    Dave Sweeney

    Former Prime Minister Bob Hawke gained some airtime in the crowded pre-election public arena with his well-worn call for Australia to host the world's radioactive waste.